Some thoughts about my art….

February 15, 2011

I am a Norwegian-Canadian artist living in Winnipeg, Canada and also the Art Librarian at the University of Manitoba.

I have always been interested in formalism and the communicative value of  line and colour.  Although my earliest works from 20 years ago have their roots in collage, the Russian Constructivists, and Frank Stella,  the later works — with their spirals and vortexes, have grown out of my interest in the folk tradition of Norwegian rosemaling.  Here the act and process of rosemaling has further defined the formalist issues in my work.  I am also interested in the use of pattern to control and direct the gaze of the viewer.

Using the language of Modernism, I have continued to explore my concern for  “energies” and “forces” and the psychology of the painted line.  Abstract painting has predominantly been associated with the masculine qualities of the optical, rational and heroic, but I am interesting in demystifying these values and want to metaphorically promote the decorative, fluidity and the feminine in my work.  I will continue to explore Nature and organic abstraction and to work with feelings and impulses, until these become ideas and subjects, which do not overtly reference popular culture.

6 Responses to “Some thoughts about my art….”

  1. William Huculak Says:

    Good job! What visually stunning art work!

  2. Barb Flemington Says:

    Hey Liv,
    Beautiful new work! Thanks for sharing your new website. Two editing notes regarding your site, most recent employment date on CV confusing without current year noted; under current project, typo of word exhibition in sentence beginning, “Meanwhile…”

    Great to see your site. I really like the opening page with your art woven through the background. Beautiful colour and texture.

    Looking forward to seeing you soon. Barb

  3. Dave Nicholls Says:

    Nice site Liv – good looking and getting around is intuitive. I like that fact that you can look at previous exhibits – it helps to see how your work has progressed and jives nicely with your comments in the Artist’s Statement.

    You’ve already identified what I would say are the problems with the site – the font and the inability to link back directly from Flickr.

    Finely – the works look great and show a real development and refinement of thought. Nice.

  4. Leia Says:

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future
    but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic
    but I had to ask!


    • Hi Leia,
      I used wordpress and the theme is Imire. I played around with the background settings and choose an image of my artwork and tiled it. thanks for your interest. I see you are in Deutschland. i will be visiting Berlin in June and am very excited.
      Liv

  5. Olga Says:

    I got this website from my friend who shared with me
    about this web site and now this time I am visiting this web page and reading very informative articles
    or reviews here.


Leave a Reply

